2019 – 24th Annual Les Naftel Memorial Golf Tournament

2019 – 24th Annual Les Naftel Memorial Golf Tournament

July 13, 2019

When Kelly and I first bought our cottage here in 2016 we had no idea how great of a community we were about to be a part of. Starting from the day we first took possession of our place to find a note from the Camerons welcoming us to the island and then quickly being warmly greeted by everyone we came across, we could tell right away we had found somewhere special…

Taking part in the great events put on by the CWA and its volunteers really allowed us to feel part of the Cecebe culture and its wonderful group of individuals. I’m really very thankful for all of the hard work so many people have put in to make all of these wonderful annual events take place. I wanted a chance to pay back some of the great kindness we have experienced here by taking on the golf tournament his year.

We started things off by introducing a new golf venue this year and we were not disappointed. The Ridge Golf Club was not only in great golf shape but was also a pleasure to work with due to the graciousness of our hosts Mike and Shannon Wardell. The weather was fantastic and so was the company. We had 59 golfers spread out over 15 teams and each golfer was presented with a commemorative tumbler courtesy of the CWA and Port Carmen Marina.

Many thanks to Ted Hewett, Port Carmen Marina and Ron Johnson Insurance for sponsoring the $10,000 Hole in One prize. Unfortunately no one was able to hit the 145-yard drive for the big payout! Special thanks to Alex Mihan for bearing witness to the Hole in One attempts on Hole #3 and for taking such great pictures of all the teams as they passed through.

The prize for the putting contest this year was a round for 2 with cart at The Ridge of Manitou. Thanks to the Mihan family for donating this great prize. There were 35 attempts at the contest with 2 participants earning a score of 30 points each. John Wyatt and myself J! I deferred my score and declared John the winner! Congratulations John, we hope you enjoy your round!

The winning golf team for 2019 was Ian Cameron, Jim Patterson, Brenda Naftel and Ron Armitage with a score of 28 (-4)! Logan Naftel presented them with the Les Naftel Memorial Golf Trophy and each of them took home a $25 PC Gift Card courtesy of Brent Hewlett and a free Canadian Tire car wash courtesy of Cynthia Hishon.

Darin Hoar was the men’s longest drive champ while Val Barker took home the ladies’ longest drive title. Closest to the pin for the men was not won this year however Pam Alexander was able to capture the ladies’ closest to the pin prize.

We had just shy of 100 guests for dinner this year at the Magnetawan Community Centre and had a delicious buffet meal catered by Tanner’s Inn and Dining. Big thanks to Paul Rogers and his team from Tanner’s. We had many great comments on how tasty the meal was and we hope to have them back again next year.

Thanks to the great work of our 50/50 sellers Darin Hoar, Logan Naftel and Ken Mihan a pool of $600 was collected. The $300 prize was won by Jim Patterson and as a new incentive this year Lana and Derek Hoar of Deker eLeCTRIC donated a match to the $300 cash prize with a gift certificate for the same amount in electrical work. Thank you very much Lana and Derek for introducing this new idea.

Included with the purchase of your dinner ticket was a raffle ticket. We were able to raffle off some great gift certificates thanks to the Garden Centre in Burk’s Falls, Dutch Harmony Ranch, $25 in Canadian Tire Gas courtesy of Cynthia Hishon and a $100 Pioneer Gas Card thanks to Brent Hewlett. I’m sure our winners will make great use of those gift cards.

Due to its popularity the silent auction was back again this year. We had a great array of items this year ranging from hand carvings to local swag to rounds of golf. This portion of the event is strictly donation based and could not happen without the generosity of our local businesses and our CWA members. Please consider donating next year as it is not only a great part of the event but also allows us to raise funds for the association and make donations back to the local community.

Last but not least my sincere thanks to this years event day volunteers:

Dinner Reception – Pat Laidlaw and Ian Spear

50/50 – Darin Hoar. Logan Naftel and Ken Mihan

Putting Contest – Jane Spear

Hole in Hole Monitor and Photographer – Alex Mihan

Facebook and CWA Liaison – Kathy Baker

Snacks/Drinks on Hole 1 – Darin and Kyleigh Hoar

Silent Auction Displays/Setup – Kelly Spear

Taking on the tournament this year allowed me to work with and get to know so many more of our great CWA members. Even though there was a lot of time and work involved it was definitely a very rewarding experience. A very BIG THANK YOU to all of those who donated their time, donated auction items & prizes and/or took the time to take part in the tournament and dinner. We hope to see you all out again next year!

Save the date!

The 25th Les Naftel Memorial Golf Tournament will be held on: July 11th, 2020

PHOTO: 2019 Winning Team – Ron Armitage, Ian Cameron, Brenda Naftel and Jim Patterson.

Photo Credit: Alex Mihan